An MIT Alumni Association Publication

Next month’s MIT Alumni Leadership Conference, which takes place Sept. 27–28 on campus, will bring to light the many ways that members of the MIT community work together to make a better world. (Register by September 15.)

This year’s keynote speakers include MIT President L. Rafael Reif, along with leading members of the MIT community who are working to admit the highest-caliber students, exploring exciting new research in the field of computing, sharing why storytelling matters in the sciences, and discussing the many ways MIT alumni collaborate, mind and hand.

The conference will also commemorate significant milestones: the 50th anniversary of the Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP), a foundational component of experiential learning at MIT, and the 120th anniversary of the Association of MIT Alumnae (AMITA), which will be celebrated at ALC’s closing reception.

Scan the list of selected highlighted speakers below (more to be added), then view the schedule for the full list of 40-plus sessions, with something for every MIT volunteer. Registration closes Sunday, September 15—sign up today

Introducing the MIT Stephen A. Schwarzman College of Computing

  • Reif.jpg

    L. Rafael Reif (Introduction)

    President, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • ANANTHA.jpg

    Anantha P. Chandrakasan

    Dean, MIT School of Engineering


    Dan Huttenlocher SM ’84, PhD ’88

    Inaugural Dean, MIT Stephen A. Schwarzman College of Computing

  • Shah

    Julie Shah ’04, SM ’06, PhD ’11

    Associate Professor, Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Leader, CSAIL Interactive Robotics Group

Storytelling and the Sciences: Why Communication Matters

  • BRAITMAN.jpg

    Laurel Braitman PhD ’13

    Writer-in-Residence and Director of Writing and Storytelling, Medicine and the Muse Program, Stanford University

Institute and Alumni Association Update

  • CAULFIELD.jpeg

    R. Erich Caulfield SM ’01, PhD ’06

    President, MIT Alumni Association

  • Espich_Whitney.jpg

    Whitney T. Espich

    CEO, MIT Alumni Association

  • SCHMIDT.jpg

    Martin Schmidt SM ’83, PhD ’88

    Provost, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

The Admissions Process at MIT

  • SCHMILL.jpg

    Stuart Schmill ’86

    Dean, Admissions and Student Financial Services

  • tenhoff.jpg

    Philana Tenhoff

    Director of Multicultural Recruitment and Associate Director of Admissions

Celebrating UROP at 50

  • TRIMBLE.jpg

    Kate Trimble

    Senior Associate Dean and Director, Office of Experiential Learning

  • BERGREN.jpeg

    Michael Bergren

    Associate Dean, Academic and Research Initiatives

Creating Inclusive Environments for Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation

  • McNAIR.jpg

    Lauryn McNair

    Assistant Director, Intercultural Engagement for LBGTQ+ Services

Digital Marketing with Accessibility in Mind


    Kathleen Cahill

    Associate Dean, Accessibility and Usability